The Official Blog of Mason Athletics

What Does Today’s Match Mean to the Women’s Soccer Seniors?

In case we haven’t said it often enough on the GoMason Blog, the women’s soccer team plays its biggest match since 2007 today when it travels to Towson. At 2 p.m., the Patriots take the pitch knowing that a win or a tie puts them into the conference tournament. The last time they made it was 2007 when they suffered an opening round loss to James Madison. You can follow all the action on GoMason.com with a Live Blog of the action beginning around 1:45 p.m.

The GoMason Blog asked the seniors on this year’s team to answer one simple question: “What does Friday’s match at Towson mean to you?” We heard back from three of them and here are their responses:

Capricia Alston

“Today is a day where actions speak far louder than words. As a senior, I could go on all day as to why this game is important, and why I think we deserve to win, but the scenario speaks for itself. From here on out, it’s win or go home, and for some of us, home is a place of no return. The seniors aren’t ready. The team isn’t ready. The coaching staff isn’t ready. This family isn’t ready, and what better position to be in than the one we’re in now? Nobody is in our way but ourselves. Luck has fortunately been on our side, but we know it’s time to quit depending on luck. As cliché as this sounds, we must depend on work ethic, heart, and each other. I did not leave practice yesterday thinking that would be my last time on our field. I, no WE, left with the intent to return, and not with just a tie. Today we don’t need a senior speech or a motivational speech to get us going. We know what we must do, and we know exactly what’s on the line. Today, more than any other day yet, we need to ‘bring that blood and pain!’”

Omolyn Davis

“This is my last year as a Mason Patriot. This is it for me and the three other seniors on our team. Playing at Towson today means a lot for me as a senior. It means that with a win today, we are guaranteed a spot in the final four of our conference tournament. It means that I will be guaranteed another game as a senior and as a Mason Patriot. I am so proud of this group of girls, and with all the injuries and setbacks that we’ve had, I am confident that we will be up to the task for today’s game. We sure don’t expect today’s game to be a walk in the park, especially playing away from home, but with our athletic ability, and determination, I have no doubt that we will come out victorious at the end of 90 minutes.

“At the beginning of the season, I remember telling my teammates that one of my goals for this season was to reach the CAA playoffs. In fact, that was every one’s goal on our team, to make it to the CAA playoffs. Now, with just one game left on our schedule, Towson happens to be the deciding game of our 2010 season, and the most important game of our entire season. With a win today, as a team, we will all have accomplished one of our goals that was set in the beginning of the season. Towson here we come!! We are bringing that blood and pain!! LETS GO PATRIOTS!!”

Kimmy Moss

“The reality is, today’s match against Towson is just another match.

“It’s just another day of being lucky enough to play soccer with a team that I absolutely love to play for. I go into it expecting, demanding, and determined to win, just like any other game. What’s different today, though, is that as we enter the last game of the regular season, I can’t let go of the fact that I am finally a senior. And as a senior, I can’t help but to realize that my days on the field are numbered. To be brutally honest, it’s a really scary feeling. Terrifying, in fact, for someone who truly loves the game with all her heart and soul.

“So what exactly does this game mean to me?

“I think I’d be lying if I didn’t say everything.

“Taking care of business today against Towson, means that I’ll get to play another game of the sport I that love, with the team that I love, for the school that I love.  And right now, that’s all I could ever ask for.

“LET’S GO MASON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Leave a Reply

