The Official Blog of Mason Athletics

Don’t Relax on Mason’s Porch

As an assistant coach with the George Mason women’s volleyball team, Dottie Porch has certainly tasted success in her four years with the Patriots. She’s been part of a staff that has seen the Patriots win a CAA title, Holly Goode named CAA Player of the Year, Goode and Kelsey Bohman earn AVCA All-Region honors and most recently, Lana Zonjic being named CAA Co-Rookie of the Year. But back in the late 1990s, it was Porch who was earning all the honors and all the recognition during a storied two-sport career at IPFW.

This past weekend, Porch was honored for all she did as a student-athlete when she was inducted in the IPFW Athletics Hall of Fame. Porch, who graduated from IPFW in 1998, was twice named IPFW Female Athlete of the Year. She was named first-team All-GLVC in volleyball and was the conference’ s player of the year as a 1997, the same season she was an AVCA D-II All-American. She also played basketball for three seasons, the sport she was originally recruited in.

“I was extremely shocked and excited, humbled,” Porch said. “I think it’s a great, great honor and I was happy that they chose me. I never thought about the Hall of Fame. I played sports because I loved it. I just happened to be OK at it.”

She was more than OK as Porch led her volleyball squad to two conference titles while also being a major contributor on the basketball team. “At the time, IPFW was a Division II school with not a lot of buildings on campus and not a lot of sports,” Porch said. “We were always together with other athletes and had the kind of camaraderie and friendships and support system around that always made it fun.”

For Porch, her path to success was simple and clear. “As a student-athlete I was dedicated and driven and I worked hard for everything I accomplished. My Mom had four kids and was alone so she had to work hard to bust her butt so I had to work hard to bust my butt.”

That work ethic is, in Porch’s mind, the most important thing she tries to impart to her players.

“Working hard can take you further than the court,” Porch said. “Most of my lessons that I learned on the court I can relate to my life. I have to have good time management and make sure I am organized and approach people differently. I can’t have a blanket way of communicating. Respecting the fact that competition is there and is real. You have to respect your opponents. And that every day, when I step on the court, I have to work hard.”

Leave a Reply

